A simple project, in which Arduino UNO controls a 5V relay is explained here. Relay module for Arduino is one of the most powerful application for Arduino as it can be used to control both A.C and D.C devices by simply controlling the relay by giving 5V. Connect the signal terminal IN4、IN5 of 8-channel relay to digital port 3,2 of the SunFounder Arduino Mega2560 board, and connect an LED at the output terminal.(Pay attention to that there are only two submodules of the 8-channel relay are used in this example, but you can use the 8 submodules freely.)

Otherwise, it will turn off. Im sorry if im posting this thread in the wrong place this is my first post and you can tell i am a noob (obviously). Since the Arduino operates at 5V it can’t control these higher voltage devices directly, but you can use a 5V relay to switch the 120-240V current and use the Arduino to control the relay.